top of page

The Next Thing

The now thing is the next thing

Not the yesterday thing

I can’t stay there anymore


You wanna keep talking about it?

Then walk with me cuz I’m

Not standing still


I’ll talk 'til you’re done talking

But the result better be freedom

cuz I’m moving on and won’t stop until I get there


Come with me, cuz

I don’t want to leave you behind

But let’s go. I’m going.


STUCK NOT STUCK

(Get out there, get moving)

The thing about moving water is it’s easier to correct that rudder and keep going. Easier than trying to stand my ground when the winds of change are blowing. When I give in to the movement, it challenges me, in order to take me new places. I find that some mistakes get swallowed up as we go -- like grace passed by in an invisible wave and said don't worry about that one. So I hang onto what’s important, and keep going. Another day, another chance to learn, another chance to do better.

JOURNAL PROMPT: Something that has you feeling stuck. What would it look like to start moving again, even before all the answers and mistakes are ironed out? And sort them as you go?

[remove the log, what’s it to you, grace]

Matt 7:5, John 21:22, 2 Cor 12:9

Recent Posts

See All

Day 6: WHOLE

I love how these words mean many things ... can take us in many directions. I'm doing this 31-day challenge with many people and each one will write differently about WHOLE. "With my whole heart I ...

Day 5: PATIENT

Most of the time I see the word patient it is someone referring to themselves as not-patient. Impatient, or just rushed. What if I start my day as patient. Not rush into it. Sit and sip tea and give m

Day 4: COMFORT

"Take comfort in the fact that _______"...comfort looks different for everyone. I think the best part of art is it can put something in front of you and help you see it, or engage with it, differently

bottom of page