top of page

How to Journal ⭐️

How (and when and where) you journal is unique to you.


Most of the time, I start with an app on my phone and capture a potential topic anytime it comes to me. Sometimes it's just an idea that I'll need to dig into later, other times it's a full blown journal session right there with my thumbs and thoughts.

My best journal times are when I'm waking up — in a state of consciousness that isn’t so guarded or on task. Maybe this thought-flow comes to you as you're on a run, or in the shower. Or you schedule a time to sit in your favorite chair and put on some flow-friendly music. (It's best if there are no words; I've listed some ideas below.)

Sit down with one of my journal prompts, work from one of your own, or simply ask God, “What do you want me to see today” then... listen for the answer to start to come. Begin writing before you're ready, like stream of consciousness. There’s no wrong way to do this. Just start.

Maybe traditional journaling isn't your style. If you’re an external processor, talk out loud. Find a friend, or a plant, or literally just talk to yourself. For me, journaling is like externally processing, engaging with something outside of myself [i.e. putting pen to paper]. This helps get my thoughts unstuck from inside my own head and flowing. Easier for the Spirit to drop in revelation; easier to steer a moving ship.

So find your favorite app or notebook or whatever. There's lots of options, pay attention to your personality and try one you think you'd like. This is for you, no one else.

If it helps, make it a habit: same spot, same time of day, with a cup of coffee. For me it works best in the chair by my corner windows, looking out at trees, with a notebook, no music, in the morning before I’ve really turned my brain on.

Your time doesn't have to look like mine or even look like it did when you used to journal. Maybe yours ends up being a collection of audio notes. Who cares. No one's going to check on you. The important thing is that it’s a practice that helps move you along in an experience of self discovery, expression and growth. See what you need to see, say what you need to say, learn something new about yourself --and there will probably an invitation to make adjustments from there. The result for me has always been more understanding, more healing and freedom, more growth. I believe this will happen for you as well as you commit to the practice.

 

Audio recommendations:

EDM / Flow State - https://g.co/kgs/TtivB4

Quiet piano music - https://youtu.be/K8w-KQdeauo

Calm meditation app - https://www.calm.com/gp/vtbzvu

Recent Posts

See All

Day 6: WHOLE

I love how these words mean many things ... can take us in many directions. I'm doing this 31-day challenge with many people and each one will write differently about WHOLE. "With my whole heart I ...

Day 5: PATIENT

Most of the time I see the word patient it is someone referring to themselves as not-patient. Impatient, or just rushed. What if I start my day as patient. Not rush into it. Sit and sip tea and give m

Day 4: COMFORT

"Take comfort in the fact that _______"...comfort looks different for everyone. I think the best part of art is it can put something in front of you and help you see it, or engage with it, differently

bottom of page