top of page

Ode to Lent (Journey On)

Wonders awake my heart and mind,

tuning them again to the Divine

Beauty restores my soul

It’s time to choose life again

To lift my face to the sun


As lent approaches I’m done

With the sackcloth and ashes

My lamenting journey has begun

And will continue

But I won’t choose to prolong the lessons

I’ve learned in dark deep

Lent for me will be a time to

Lift my face to the sun

And let the light in

It's hope I keep

40 days of fasting? We’ve been in a Year of Fasting. When will the tides turn. I think it’s now. I anticipate Easter like I anticipate Spring. I’m not sure I can see it in the distance yet, but I wait with eyes fixed like a watchmen waits for the Dawn. I sing before it breaks like a bird anticipates. Lord, quickly come. (Already) risen One.


Recent Posts

See All

Day 6: WHOLE

I love how these words mean many things ... can take us in many directions. I'm doing this 31-day challenge with many people and each one will write differently about WHOLE. "With my whole heart I ...

Day 5: PATIENT

Most of the time I see the word patient it is someone referring to themselves as not-patient. Impatient, or just rushed. What if I start my day as patient. Not rush into it. Sit and sip tea and give m

Day 4: COMFORT

"Take comfort in the fact that _______"...comfort looks different for everyone. I think the best part of art is it can put something in front of you and help you see it, or engage with it, differently

bottom of page