top of page

Day 1: NEED

This is part of a writing challenge: 31 Days... fiveminutefriday.com (5 minutes of free writing, no edits)



I don't need to do this? Do you? write? or read. I entered a challenge. Stepped over a threshold into free-writing Friday, the first of October. She said it's not a time for editing but flowing. Not for stopping but going. Not for holding back but taking a risk. 15 days ago --maybe 16? 17? I can't stop to do the math right now -- I turned 50 and turned a very big page. On (many of) the pages leading up to that (threshold) there was a pressure resting on me -- 'I need to write this book' I said and when one goal post got moved, well I moved it again & again until the air around me had built to a pressure point beyond anticipation, excitement or enjoyment at the thought of writing and sharing this book. So, for my 50th I gave myself the gift of release-- Jen, you don't need to do this. Pressure's off. Yes, I believe I will come back to it when the time is-- when the air is clear again. But for today all I know is -- (time's up!)

Recent Posts

See All

Day 6: WHOLE

I love how these words mean many things ... can take us in many directions. I'm doing this 31-day challenge with many people and each one will write differently about WHOLE. "With my whole heart I ...

Day 5: PATIENT

Most of the time I see the word patient it is someone referring to themselves as not-patient. Impatient, or just rushed. What if I start my day as patient. Not rush into it. Sit and sip tea and give m

Day 4: COMFORT

"Take comfort in the fact that _______"...comfort looks different for everyone. I think the best part of art is it can put something in front of you and help you see it, or engage with it, differently

bottom of page